TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
741 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so, I read an earlier post on RWL tires and, upon seeing pictures, said to myself, "Damn, that looks nice!" Seeing as I actually need new tires at the moment, I figured that it'd be a good time to look into some RWL tires.

The BF Goodrich Radial T/A tires look pretty nice and have good reviews, but I've got one question - the smallest size they come in for 16" rims is 265/60TR16. My question is, then, will these fit on stock Sport wheels? And more importantly, if I mount these tires on 16" Sport wheels on a '97 Sport, will I encounter any fit problems? Will there be any rubbing, etc.? I'm kinda new to this whole thing, so what I know about, well, anything, you can just about fit in a thimble, so any advice or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
741 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Aha, thanks. That pretty much settles it - it's a no. How sad.

With that in mind, then, does anyone know of/recommend any good RWL tires that'll fit on stock 16" wheels?

(as a point of reference, I believe the stock tire size is 225-60-16)

·
Registered
7,758 Posts
You might want to rethink the RWL vs. tire price and size availability. Sadly, RWL tires are getting hard to find and you are really limiting yourself in tire selection. :bawling:

I have always liked the 235 60 16 for a nice, cheap, readily available tire that fits nicely on the 16” wheels. They aren’t that wide but there are many to choose from.

But just my opinion. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
741 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You might want to rethink the RWL vs. tire price and size availability. Sadly, RWL tires are getting hard to find and you are really limiting yourself in tire selection. :bawling:

I have always liked the 235 60 16 for a nice, cheap, readily available tire that fits nicely on the 16” wheels. They aren’t that wide but there are many to choose from.

But just my opinion. :thumbsup: