TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so my dad brought up this idea last night, he has a almost complete 351W sittin in his garage. so he said why not swap it in? i wouldnt mind going carburated, but how hard would it be to make the swap? what about tranny?

·
Registered
709 Posts
you need to goto SCCOA and then the Super Coupe Club Of Ontaio forums and find a guy named 351turbo. He has an early 90's Super Coupe with a turbo charged 351 in it and it looks amazing!

Jake

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
I have the early part of my swap on the web. Here it is:

http://www.qsl.net/wd4ngb/birdwork.htm

I damaged my camera, so no pictures taken recently. I am just getting started on this Winters project, and have it all pulled out again. So far changed the cam and a few other things inside. I put a Canton 7 quart oil pan on, which required modifying the K member for clearence of the rear part of the deeper pan. Didn't want a kick out pan, since it will cause problems for LT headers.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
what were the hard parts of the swap? i didnt get to look at all the pics(my 56K..well actually about 26K sucks) but what about fabricating anything? what transmission did you use? would i be able to swap it to a 5 speed? or keep the auto?

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
The main things are you need to either use T bird front cover and accesories, or do something about the 1 inch longer standard 351 parts. Since mine is not a daily driver, I shifted the larger radiator forward where the A/C condensor was.
A taller hood will be needed. You can use old carb linkage, or Lokar kits. A 5 speed would be very easy to adapt to it if you want one. It would also allow you to use some very good headers that will not fit with a AOD with out mods.