TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys... I will be beginning my DOHC build very soon. The engine is coming from 2 sources... One engine is from a 1995 Lincoln Mark VIII and the other engine is a 2003 Mach 1. Both are DOHC obviously, but I do not know what the differences are between the heads. The Mach's engine is blown... like hole in the side of the block blown, and I have not torn down yet to establish what is good and bad... there is a chance the head could be damaged I'm sure, but am not going to make any presumptions until I have it all torn down.

In the event the 03 heads are fine, I would like to make sure I choose to use the best head for the build.

Any wisdom on this is appreciated. Also, I am still learning my Fords, so if anyone might be able to shed some light on what the heads are, i.e. romeo heads, "B" heads and so forth... all of that is still a little Greek to me.

Thanks all

·
SuperNewbie
2,869 Posts
Here is some info passed ti me from another member. Hope this helps a bit.

-The "B" heads are on all 4.6DOHC motors from 93 to 98. This includes all mark 8 motors and all 96-98 mustang cobra motors. B heads are a split port design, and actually flow better than the later C heads, however don't make as much low end torque.
-The "C" heads, AKA tumble port heads, are on all 4.6DOHC motors from 99+ except for the 2000 Cobra R. The 03/04 cobra uses a slightly different version, however they are still the same basic design and intake manifolds will interchange between any 99+ DOHC. You can not swap intakes from a B-headed motor to a C-headed motor. For a street car, these are the best heads, however they cost a lot more, and the intakes generally cost more too, so they probably aren't worth the money.