TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After having spent an hour and a half under the hood of a 1993 Cougar 5.0 My thoughts are I have to give you guys props. I have been tooling around for more than 15 years modifying, upgrading and repairing various makes and models of vehicles and I haven't run across a more sadistic or difficult vehicle in a very long time. For something that is rear wheel drive this is one of the least accessible vehicles that I have come across. I can't even see the bell housing bolts. There are S.A.E. and metric bolts, sensors I have never seen and just an all out quirky vehicle. Who in the world would imagine you need a special tool to remove the power steering pulley? Every turn of a ratchet skins your knuckles and what is up with the TV connector, is it made of glass? ABS diagnostic ports with no visible ABS pump. Does this thing have speed sensitive steering? How long can a fuel system possibly hold pressure? I can't even see the motor mounts. Are the transmission cooling lines somehow connected to the engine......I bet they are somewhere. Do you really need to have all of the vacuum lines? I doubt I will ever figure out where they all go. How much Anitfreeze can one vehicle contain?

The worst part of all of this is that I am going to be transferring all of this stuff into a fox body mustang. ECU Sensors, the whole nine yards!!! YEP I am an idiot. I know there are easier ways to get a mustang going but.......I have the cougar.....It is only suitable as a parts car. I have the mustang shell. So here we go. I know that there is a ton of wiring and fabrication that will have to be done, I knew that going in I just never imagined that getting the donor to give up her goods would be this.............Cumbersome.

For those who are curious here is the plan: