TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a newbie have had my 95 tbird only 2 weeks the check engine light came on and wont go off...what could be wrong with my car?...<no haynes book yet>
thanks!

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
oh i forgot to say...the guy i bought it from claimed he changed out the o2 sensor......if its changed out the light shouldnt come on right?

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
what do you mean by get the codes scanned?...will they plug in their scanner for free?
thanks

·
Registered
140 Posts
i also have a 95 4.6L and when i bought mine the check engine light wouldnt go off either, my friend who is a mechanic told me to clear the memory on the cpu by disconnecting the negative battery cable and push on the brake 5 times then reconnect everything and start the car i did this once and it hasnt come on since in 5 months so im assuming there was nothing wrong.

·
Baddest N/A NPI in Canada
2,118 Posts
All you have to do to reset the EEC is pull fuze 15 from under the hood, wait a few minutes, try to start the car, then put the fuze back and away you go.

·
Registered
799 Posts
hey thanks for the advise i've had the same problem with mine my lights been on for about a week went to auto zone and the guys said they couldnt tell to old of a car its a '95 4.6 he said they could do a '96 and newer but not a '95 or older ive tried disconnecting the negative battery cable and it went off for a few miles but came back on im gonna try the disconnecting and then pumping brake and if that doesnt work gonna try the removing #15 fuse i appreciate the help

·
Registered
3,902 Posts
chris g said: