TCCoA Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok. I just got this HU, and want to put it in. I want to put it in myself, not because I don't want to shell out the money, but just cuz I just wanna do it myself. The problem is... I have no experience doing this kind of stuff, and conisdering I fried the stock HU when I was trying to take it out (you're probably wondering how I managed that)..... I don't wanna just throw away the $300+ i spent on the HU.

So, you guys think it's easy enough for me to do it myself? if so, could you guys let me know how to do it?.... or you think i should just go get it done?

i got a 93lx with the premium sound system (or so it says on the door)... so i was also wondering how problematic it would be to bypass the factory amp (im assuming there is one) (I'm guessing that using the internal amp on the 7894 is better than bypassing the internal amp and wiring it to the stock "premium" amp .... since i dont know the specs on the stock system)

any help or comments at all would be much appreciated guys. Thanks!!!!!:D

·
Registered
735 Posts
2 ways

They have amp integrator harness available from METRA. Usually the roll of the mill ford is usually the old 70-1770 but is now FORDAB2 I believe. But there are others like the 5600 etc...Metra has a website and catalogue but you can be given the right harness at any Circuit City or Harness. KEYS. You'll need keys. Ford keys. Best ones are made from metra cause they have balls on the end instead of slots. Better for pushing the brackets. Push them straight in or slightly angle away from the radio and then squeeze them in while pulling out. Outboard not inboard. Pull out and unplug. No antenna's adapters are necessary.

They other way is the much harder and more xpensive, bypass the amp. Use a 70-1770 for the power harness but run wire and tag the speaker wire's out from the amp that you have to disconnect all plugs to.