Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
7,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Talk about a slap in the face…. :redmad: :zbash: :redmad:

Ok, this is just a basic rant… because if I don’t rant to someone, a bell tower and a high powered rifle is looking mighty inviting right now… :redmad: (Just joking… no really… :leftright :D )

A little history of my job:

I have been working in this location since 1987 doing the communications support/planning/management for a worldwide customer base that accesses our servers/main frames/mid-tiers. Recently we “downsized” and went from 160 people to about 12 people!! (Everyone either retired or found jobs elsewhere, so it wasn’t horrible!!)

Anyway, they removed one sentence from my job description and, with a wave of their headquarters’ hand, said, “You are no longer a GS-12, but now a GS-11”. Oh, but you’ll be expected to do the same job you were doing. :redmad:

FINE. DoD has “save pay”, so my pay didn’t go down, I’m just now topped out and won’t get full cost of living pay raises. :bawling:

Anyway, a few months ago, after all the sites had “transformed”,… (“downsizing” is a bad word… :leftright ) the individual organizations were allowed to “restructure” to better fill the necessary locations. Since I’m the only network guy here, and we had a GS-12 position that was being abolished, we justified switching that GS-12 to a network positions and filling my GS-11 with a secondary/backup. Everything was approved and it looked like a done deal for me to get the GS-12 back and get a GS-11 as a backup/alternate communications person.

Today I was told…. The job was converted as an intern and I will get to train a person right out of college i.e. NO TELECOMMUNICATIONS BACKGROUND!!! He will come in as a GS-7…. And in 3 years FILL THE GS-12 POSITION!!! :beek:

Yes, I have been directed to train the person to take my job!!! :redmad: :beek: :redmad: