TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Beer and Cheese
7,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work as a security guard normally 2nd shift, but they just let 2 people go due to being unprofessional. So now I was asked or told to work 3rd until they find replacements. Any one else work 3rd shift?. Haven’t worked the graveyard in 3 years. At least I get Friday off.

·
Premium Member
705 Posts
Third shift is the best shift...no chiefs, just indians. I worked third shift in patrol for over 10 years. Would never want to work anything else.

Plus, whenever you go anywhere during the day there are usually fewer people...like to the grocery store, movies, etc.

·
Beer and Cheese
7,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I guess it’s pretty quiet right now. Glad I have the internet and MP3 player to keep me busy on break. It's just me in a 3 story super huge building right now, kind of creepy when I do my rounds. Waiting for gremlins to jump out at me, lol.:D

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Biggest problem when I worked 3rd some years ago is when to sleep - when you get home or before you go to work the next day. Darken your room and unplug the phone.
Like mentioned above - actually a good time to be at work.

·
Registered
647 Posts
lobo said:
Third shift is the best shift...no chiefs, just indians.
Plus, whenever you go anywhere during the day there are usually fewer people...like to the grocery store, movies, etc.
Both good reasons for working 3rd. I will have been on third 5 years in April. It has its pros and cons, but so do the other shifts.

·
Administrator
14,208 Posts
I worked third for a couple years at my last job. 15% bonus for the shift, mostly sitting around waiting for stuff to break and fix it if it did (Systems Administrator), all of the traffic was going the other way leaving my commute nice and easy, and could do anything I needed to do during the day instead of trying to rush around and do it at lunch and still eat and be back by an hour.

·
Beer and Cheese