TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Texas Chapter Director
5,173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My girlfriends mom got served papers today for a lawsuit. It stated that a guy was driving her(my gf's mom) car and he(scumbag) caused a serious accident. He told the cops that he was given permission by the owner to drive it. The kicker is that my gf's mom hasnt owned a car in 2 years. The last car she owned got repo'ed and I have her credit report that shows it. What should she do? The only thing I can think of is some scumbag came over to this country and got a fake id and bought a car from a buy here pay now place and used her info. How can I find out if she still has a car in her name?

Please let me know if you can help!

·
Registered
1,197 Posts
Not sure how that would work with the local DMV, but a plate check could tell you about the registration. The paperwork for the repo should clear her easily. I'm not a lawyer by any stretch, but I went through a similar situation when I was deployed and a vehicle in my name was "borrowed" from someone I had loaned it to.

·
Texas Chapter Director
5,173 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Only problem is we dont know what car or plate it is. I can't find a way to look up a name online to see what cars are titled in her name.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Only problem is we dont know what car or plate it is. I can't find a way to look up a name online to see what cars are titled in her name.
Not a lawyer but I would contact the police immediately about something like this. There has to be an accident report and the cops will have the plate info, etc. They will also haul that moron in for questioning. I bet he didn't even have insurance.

I doubt you can find plate numbers online.

Did your g/fs mom move recently? They usually send the title to the registered owner.

·
Texas Chapter Director
5,173 Posts
Discussion Starter #5