TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, keep in mind, that I AM NOT A MECHANIC of any kind.

I was reading, (trying to understand), under an asle/gear post, about what rear end/gears my car has.

It said that under the AX part of the door post label it would say........ and it gave a list of letters/ratios.

My car under the AX =Y
Under lock = Z
Under ratio+ 3:08

The 3:08 I basically understand.
What does the "Z" represent? i am confused here.

Thanx, for any explanation.

Tweety Bird

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
"Y" is a 3.08:1 conventional open differential. Non-locking.

If the sticker has the letter "Z" then it's a 3.08:1 Trac-Lok.

Here is a link to the TCCoA Articles under the heading "Gears" that has a chart, and useful info'.

http://www.tccoa.com/articles/gears/gears.html

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
Open Differential?
I prefer the term Unlimited Slip Differential.
-g
That's funny. :)

The slip is...unlimited.

Actually I prefer the term: Detroit Locker! :D

The other day I said to the janitor at work, "Do you have a sanitary waste receptacle lining?"

He said, "Huh?"

I said, "Y'know. A trash bag."

·
̇
3,701 Posts
Differential Terminology

Ford refers to it's "Open Differential" in a few different terms..

Such as: "Non-Limited Slip".."Non-Locking".."Conventional"

Ford refers to its "Locking Differential" in a few different terms as well..

Such as: "Limited Slip".."Locker".."Trac-Lok"

These are terms relevant to the MN12 & FN10 platforms..

Ford has used many Differential styles throughout the years..Some of those are listed here: -->>DIFFERENTIALS

I remember having this conversation before.. :tongue:

Rayo..

·
Registered
1,148 Posts