TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 94' bird with the 4.6 and I'm lucky to pull 17mpg with the a/c on. I actually drive fairly easy and most of my travel is on the highway like 100 miles a trip. Problem is I make that trip two to three times a week. I'm a college student and low on the funds. Need better mpg! Is this normal for a bird, the only mods are a k&n filter charger, the mass air has been drilled ( that could be a factor), and true duals with flowmasters. It also wears 245-45-17's. Another ? is, would I get better mpgs if I swapped in a t-45 even though I'd have to put in 3:55s. Also would the t-45 make a big difference is performance. I almost got spanked by a f-350 the other day, but thank god a car pulled in front of him. Please give any info that might help because I think I'm in the process of selling it. Thanks,junior

·
Boost Happy
1,971 Posts
well with all the things i have done i get about 17MPG its 50% high way and 50% around here,
this was last year i had almost everything i have now but i dont baby it i am on it almost at everylight
with the T -45 i dont know if u will get better MPG it depends on how you drive it
as for performance if ur complaining about how you dont have money to pay some more for gas
you do know that the t-45 swap will cost u like 2g-3g right? and i am not sure what gas u run i have to use
premium myself , but i havet checked to see what mpg i get now caz i just got it out it was stored for the winter but it should be pretty much the same .

Jurgen

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks jurgen, I might need to put in a new tranny anyways. so I figured if there do it. but i would like to see atleast 22-25 mpgs. if i can't get then i'll have to resort to rice power, which is a shame because all i have ever owned were rear driven and mainly v-8s. thanks though

·
Refrigerator Raider Hater
11,719 Posts