TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
933 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My mechanic said he can do the lower ball joints for about $350, does this sound like a good deal? Also he is extended family so sometimes he takes $50 or so off, but not counting on it just in case.

I know I can replace them my self, but I have very little mechanical experience and don't want to screw things up. The only thing I have worked on my car was stereo stuff, the antenna mast, and the air silencer. And replacing light bulbs in the high mount cause they burn out all the time (I need to look for the bulbs recommend on here that don't over heat or whatever.)

I plan on taking it in this morning and getting it taken care of because I want to go to KC this week. I just wanted a few thoughts.

·
Super Moderator
12,027 Posts
The LCA's themselves I bought from Advance Auto parts in April of 2007 for $57.48 each plus about $8 in tax; total of about $124 for the parts - They may cost more now; that was two years ago. So, you're looking at about $225 in labor. That's about right for shop work. I recommend the Thunderbird SC lower control arms. They were priced less than the regular LX arms and from what I hear the bushings on them are tighter. Try to get the TRW brand since they were OEM.

I wouldn't recommend just replacing the ball joints without replacing the entire arm. It's just quicker and smarter to replace the whole arm.

You're going to need an alignment after the work is done so figure that into the cost. Either have him include the alignment in the cost or may be cut you a break.

·
Registered
933 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I think the control arms are fine. If you just have the ball joints replaced you don't need an alignment do you? I don't have a ton of money to spend so I'm just doing what needs to be done now. I'm just wondering if $350 seems fair.

·
Super Moderator
12,027 Posts