TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I have a 1990 TBSC and its been leaking brake fluid for about 2 or months. But it started leaking so bad that I'd have white smoke coming from under the hood everytime id stop at a light. So I took it to the shop and he says i have a bad master cylinder. It was leaking so i let him replace it. The leakin stopped for a month. But now its back and smoking at the light again. It even ran completely out of brake fliud while i was on highway (VERY SCARY MOMENT) I had take it back to the shop and he says its leaking from some sensor. (i forgot which one he said. think it was ABS Sensor) So he says its cost 300 for the sensor plus labor charges. B4 I give this guy my money is there anything else i can do. How do i check for the leak. Just pump the brake and get under the car and search? Is the sensor really 300 dollars? Is there anything i can tighten to make sure theres not just something loose? How do i know its not the accumulator?

Im not the brightest when it come to fixing cars but i have no problem trying to fix them or learning how to. Any and all helpis greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
107 Posts
i think the best bet is just to yank out the abs senors. i need to do that as well on my daily driver.

can anyone snap a pic where these sensors are located/best way to remove them? i'm mechanically handicapped too. not much experience anyways. but i can learn

·
Registered
630 Posts
ok im not quit sure about this but give it a shot look behind the drivers front wheel and see if its that sensor! if so the go to a junk yard and pull one off a cougar xr7 89 for a markvii,sc

·
Registered
50 Posts