TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I actually joined this forum a long time back. Think my last login was 2007!!! :rolleyes:

I joined because I'm a fan of the MN12 T-Birds. I didn't buy one (got an LS1 z28 instead :eek: )

But recently I've found an 86 T-Bird for sale. Now go gentle with me, I'm in England (UK) so these are very rare here, and I don't know much about them.

This ones going to be a project car, as sadly someone has taken the engine and gearbox out (5.0 and a AOD I think).

But I could do with some info on how to find parts for them. The 86 is on a Foxbody platform isn't it?? If so how similar is it to a Mustang? Can I buy most parts for the Mustang and they'll fit?

Also what's the score with upgrading things like shocks/brakes and things?

Cheers guys :)

·
Administrator
8,105 Posts
Welcome back! :)

I'm no expert on the Foxbody chassis, but as far as I know you can use quite a few Mustang parts on it. I'm sure there are more knowledgeable people here that will chime in.

Joe

·
Registered
2,542 Posts
Move post

Hi

Move this post to Turbo Coupes. Your chassis.

Most of the engine stuff will work from a Pony.
Some of the suspension is slightly different.

My 85 has the Quad shock rear axle. thou it is only a 7.5.
has a 3.45tl rear gear. The 86 V8 car might have a 8.8 rear.?

;)

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
Welcome back man, the engine and trans should work, but I dont know about the suspension so much. Hopefully there are guys on that know more than me. :)

·
Registered
89 Posts
Hi, I like the way British people talk. Now that that is out of the way, the 86 Tbird/Cougar is built on the Fox body platform and most Mustang parts will fit with a few exceptions. If the car was originally a 5.0/AOD car it would have came with a 7.5 rear and either 2.73s or 3.08s.