TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,976 Posts
the entire engine is different... nothing is interchangable...

·
Moderator, Iowa Chapter Director, Uber Luber, TCCo
8,978 Posts
the ford v6 block is stronger :D

·
Confirmed V6 Nut
2,261 Posts
Depending on the overbore, you can use some Buick GN pistons in the Ford Block.

·
8,978 Posts
PCD said:
Depending on the overbore, you can use some Buick GN pistons in the Ford Block.
Thats right, I forgot about that :)
-Thomas

·
Registered
654 Posts

The real difference is the Buick is by far a superior motor as a daily
driver and in high performance applications :eek:

ThunderBird 94 said:
does anybody know the difference between the buick 3.8 and ford 3.8?

·
Confirmed V6 Nut
2,261 Posts
I've had a 78 Skylark with the 231 CID N/A in it and I have a 3.8L N/A in my bird. As a daily driver, my bird is better. As for performance, John Menard took the Buick as far as he could go, but they couldn't quite finish Indy, could they?

·
Registered
1,921 Posts
LST MN-12 said:

The real difference is the Buick is by far a superior motor as a daily
driver and in high performance applications :eek:
That statment is INCORRECT, the ford 3.8L is actually the superior motor at the took the Buick design and CORRECTED alot of the problem areas. The ford 3.8L just got a bad rap from all those crappy headgaskets for a 5-6year span (took that long to find out it was a BIG problem but that was corrected in 96') We are now seeing BONE STOCK shortblocks go 450+rwhp/tq

·
Registered
654 Posts
rancherlee said: