TCCoA Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm lizzy and new to the forums. I have a 98 mark viii. my dad has an 88 t bird turbo coupe, and I am planning on fixing it for him for christmas/his birthday and I wanted to get some opinions and recommendations. Apparently the main bearings wore out years ago and its been sitting ever since. I remember it was running when I was a freshman in high school so probably less than 10 years since it ran. Anyway, it needs rebuilt or a new motor and I'm not sure which one. My first instinct is just to rebuild the original block from the ground up and get a bigger turbo, etc. But I know it'll be very expensive and none of the state of the art 80s electronics or fuel injection system will work and have to be replaced. I was wondering if it would be worth it to put one of the new 2.3 turbos, like in the S550's, in it. Or if I should put a carbureted ohv 5.0 in it or just put a coyote motor in it. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for the help! :)

·
Super Moderator
5,716 Posts
I'm olde skool - I'd rebuild that motor.

Or find a compatible block and rebuild that.

Not so sure about a bigger turbo; the one that's on it is nice for that size motor.

RwP

Reactions: lizzy2112

·
Registered
2,399 Posts
and none of the state of the art 80s electronics or fuel injection system will work and have to be replaced.
I don't understand this part. Why wouldn't they work? Because you're going far away from stock?

Personally, I would just focus on rebuilding the engine and leave the induction system (turbo, etc) stock for now. Then if you decide to get crazy with a larger turbo, etc later on, make that Phase II. Plus, a better chance of actually making just the engine happen by Christmas.