TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a '90 SC and my buddy is throwing a 350 "Rocket" in his 67 Impala. I figure I should be able to take him but he insists he'll beat me with his 12" slicks. That doesn't have me too worried, should i be? I'm not a car expert so I'm not sure, What i'm worried about more then the 350 is the 464 he's planning on throwing in it later. What are my chances of beating him each time? I can't see the 350 being a problem giving that its in an Impala of all cars! Its automatic, not sure on the gear set up tho. I gotta 5-spd w/ a lightning MAF (only 80mm maf?) and either the Borla exhaust or mn12. The previous owner said it was a "stainless steel exhaust" (only borla and MN12 carry stainless steel... last time i checked) and we never asked past that part. But by the time he's ready i'm thinking i'll have.... Cold air intake, throttle body and OD pulley atleast. Maybe some high flow cats. What do u guys think?

·
Chapter Director Coordinator
6,253 Posts
depends how modified the 350 is...

·
Boost Happy
1,971 Posts
is his engine bone stock i mean thouse engines dont make alot of hp stock and plus thew auto and the weight on his car who knows if yours is in good condition and it has all the power it will be a good race try it and let us know .

Jurgen

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I will, when it happens. I'm not sure how much he's gonna mod it. He wants to do new brakes. As of now, he has no engine, and 4 wheel drums (wants 4wheel discs) so he's not going to have alot of money to be throwing into mods right away. I'm not sure when its gonna happen, but when it does, I'll post the results for sure. Otherwise, i guess I'm screwed for the 464? lol. My car is in great condition. Its tranny, supercharger, cooling system, brakes, clutch, water pump, hg's and all that was all re-done recently. The list looks a lil short... i know i forgot something! We'll just have to see

·