TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
694 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I have a 180 degree T-stat and my chip is burnt for this as well. Before I had my radiator flushed and filled, my temp was smack dab in between Normal and "C"... or 1/3 up the gauge. After the flush and fill couple weeks ago, my car tempurature (at full or highest reached temp) is about 1/4 up the gauge (just above the line right after the "C") ... it is noticeably running colder then before. Is this for the fact that my old Coolant was just nasty and lost its "cooling abilities"... and the new coolant is more efficient? The old coolant had been in there for quite some time im sure (couple years maybe?). Ive read the articles on a lower T-Stat... engine wear and tear blah blah... but i didnt think it would run THIS cold all the time (after the flush). Should I refer back to a factory T-stat? Or am I ok where im at? Thanks :D

·
The Parts Guy
7,306 Posts
As I've said before, the factory gauge is pretty worthless. The factory gauge doesn't tell you what temp the coolant is. My 94 overheated at the "O" of "Normal". If you're worried about it, I'd suggest installing a real temp gauge.

Personally, if the needle is at least moving off the "C", I wouldn't be too concerned.

-Rod

·
Registered
986 Posts
cougar_ricer,

Coolant never loses its "cooling ability", but the additives which provide corrosion protection do deplete over time. That is the real reason why you should change your coolant at regular intervals.