TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
95 bird 4.6l Car started to chug a little the other day, then was fine for a day, then was werse. Starts fine, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT came on. Code 102. MASS OR VOLUME AIR FLOW CIRCUIT LOW INPUT is what the scanner says but im lost now. Anyone know whats wrong? Im not good with these computer issues.
Thanks for the help

·
Premium Member
1,362 Posts
You Mass airflow senseor may be dirty. You can clean it with electrical parts cleaner. Do you know what and where it is, and how to remove it? Do a search on how to do it. Go to the search function and type in cleaning mass airflow sensor, or something similar and see what you find. Plenty of people have written or asked about it. Hope that helps.

·
Super Moderator
9,253 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i am a little worried about doing it, 2 yrs ago i did it with the correct spray and a week latter it died completely, cost me $500, for a tow and new mass senser. But ill try it again, and see what happens this time. thanks

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
I highly doubt you had anything to do with it failing unless you used a q-tip and rubbed it too hard. If you are worried about having the right cleaner pick up some MAF cleaner from an auto parts store if that isn't what you already have. While you're at it spray the inside of the connectors to make sure the signal is being interrupted by dirt in there. If done correctly you shouldn't have anything to worry about.

·
Banned
754 Posts
I cant see a damaged MAF causing the car not to run,you can unplug them and still run the car.... though you will be getting terrible mileage I think.

·
Registered
1,573 Posts
I didnt use a Q tip when I did mine. Just sprayed the hell out of it, and everything is fine almost 1K miles later. If you use the right cleaner, and did it properly(a MAF cleaner) then I dont see how that could contribute to a failure of the MAF sensor.

·
5,650 Posts