TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well as yo all know i have no exhaust.. lol.. shopping around friday i found a good deal on a cherry bomb Di/Do for $72.. the guy said it gav it the sound of having a rough idlecam.. but with stock cams (if that made sense) which is kinda what im lookig for since i dont have $5-600 for a new set of cams and a new timing cahin.. lol.. do any of you have this on your cars? a sound clip would be great.. im probably going to get it anyways but i just wanted to hear it:D when i get them ill make sure to post a vid.. if my mom will give my camera back..

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
Not sure how it would sound.Cherry bombs give a raspy sound.I have a couple of glasspacks I was thinking about putting on my exhaust in place of my Dynomax mufflers.The mufflers I have now are way to quiet for my taste.

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I've had some experience with the cherry bombs. I used one on a friends 4.3 v6 silverado. Sounded great. Gave a good V8 sound and didnt drone at all! BUT! The 4.6 is always hard to get a good sound out of. (as most of use have been and are always in pursuit of the "PERFECT" 4.6 note)

A couple of suggestions I might add from my experience only:

If adding a muffler of any sort, always mid-mount. The tone and note you get is much more classy with the rest of the pipe to the rear of the vehicle.

One other thing i've noticed is to try to keep something with wadding on the exhaust system. (glasspack, straight through type race muffler) Without headers the 4.6 can makes some annoying high tones that need to be absorbed with wadding.

just my .02

~MG~

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter #4