TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been chasing this bastard clunk for a few months with no solution... it's only getting worse. I have checked and re-checked everything (I think) possible to figure out this damn front left clunk. I read through a lot of threads regarding it and tried all the usual culprits. That includes all ball joints, UCA, the frame bolts with E18 bit torqued to 100lbs, strut rod to frame bushing, and strut rod to LCA bushing.

Damn clunk is still there and now its getting worse. It originally started with a clunk on the front driver's side when turning the wheel all the way left or right, like when pulling into the driveway or turning at a stop sign. The progression has now begun to make noise when driving straight over every little bump. Little tip-taps. I can mainly feel it directly under my feet. I recently had it in the shop for some body work and paint (pictures soon to come) and my body guy couldn't figure it out. He took it to his main mechanic and alas, neither could he. I have replaced the UCA, strut rod bushing **used moog which I regret but its tight as a crabs ass and looks perfect to me** and greased every other fitting and ball joint. No noticeable play in anything. Re-did rotors and pads not too long ago.

I'm at a loss on this one, especially if a mechanic couldn't figure it out. Any more ideas out there as to what can be causing this. I'd really hate to have something fail on the highway and my good looking baby gets wrapped around a tree.

·
Registered
1,922 Posts
+1 on the swaybar endlinks. Though that normally is just a rattle at low speeds.

Does the car pull to one side when braking? If so, that is the LCA. Did you check or replace the LCA's?

I have never had any luck checking for bad suspension parts, hard getting them to move around. I either just do a visual, or just replace it.

Al

·
Super Moderator
7,654 Posts