TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the 4.6L world so I need some help.

I want to flush the cooling system on my 96 Bird and someone told me about having to remove 2 drain plugs on each side of the engine. He said it was to ensure all the coolant was drained. Has anyone heard of this? And can anyone give me the correct procedure to do the job.

Also I just read the thread on the thermostats and I plan to change mine.

·
8,239 Posts
a couple topics already on this :search: is your friend.

I installed one of those prestone backflush things on the heater core hose leading to the intake and flushed it out with a garden hose. Then drain the water from the drainblocks on the engine if you want, and drain out as much as you can, then fill it up with 50 percent prestone and 50 percent distilled water (39 cents a gallon at walmart)

Should be good to go for any climate, and the new prestone is good for a few years instead of one.

You might want to remove your overflow bottle and clean it up good with a toothbrush before you put fresh coolant in it, thats what I did. Also yank the radiator hoses and check for any blockage from minerals.

JH

·
Administrator
4,161 Posts
Bah, too much antifreeze Justin. Unless you routinely see temps in the single digits and below, 75/25 water to antifreeze is more than enough freeze protection and will cool the engine more efficiently. Add a bottle of Redline Water Wetter if you want the best cooling. But definitely use the distilled water. It's dirt cheap and worth it in the long run for sure.

·
8,239 Posts
Not for us northerners. I've always been taught 50/50.

I guess I could use less in my car which sits inside all winter, but the truck gets 50/50, because it sometimes hits 20 below zero.

JH

·
Registered
268 Posts
Sir William said: