TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Johnny Bling Bling
3,811 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
i had the original 265/70/17's with oe aluminum rims on my expy when i first dyno'd it. the result was 339 rwhp, and 440 rwtq. a year later i went back to get the speedo corrected with the 275/55/20'sand oe aluminum rims, and redyno'd at 345rwhp, but 430 rwtq. he said that the tq loss was because the bigger wheel/tire combo was heavier. he didn't know why the hp went up! the time of year was almost exactly a year apart, and the weather was similar(cold, winter). makes sense to me.

does this have an effect on mpg as well? i have a 1200 mile 1 way trip in 6 weeks, and if i can pick up some mpg's easily by switching back to the oe smaller setup, it may be worth it. if not, i'll leave the 20's on....they look a lot better!

original rims 27 lbs ea x 5; 265/70/17 wrangler rt/s 39lbs ea x 5

20" oe rims 44lbs ea x 5; 275/55/20 scorpion atr 48lbs ea x 5

·
Registered
3,750 Posts
i'm no professional, but it seems like you'd get better MPG with a bigger wheel/tire. more distance traveled per axle rotation.

that sounds right, but the weight may be the factor

·
Registered
335 Posts
A larger tire has the same effect of higher rear gears. That's why you lost torque and gained a bit of horsepower.

You might see a bit of improvement in mpg, but I doubt it would be more than 1 point.

·
Administrator
14,208 Posts
original rims 27 lbs ea x 5; 265/70/17 wrangler rt/s 39lbs ea x 5

20" oe rims 44lbs ea x 5; 275/55/20 scorpion atr 48lbs ea x 5
[(265mm * .70) *2] *0.0393700787 + 17 = 31.6062992 inch diameter
[(275mm *.55) *2] *0.0393700787 + 20 = 31.9094488 inch diameter

Change of 1%