TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im looking to do an engine swap with my 93 Tbird (stock v6 3.8 L) and was wondering if you guys would recommend a new crate engine that il have to piece mail the little parts after I Get it? Or should I go about finding a refurbished engine and just use that? I want about 300 HP (at least) at the wheels and something that looks half decent, but il be driving 100 miles between home and college so i need something reliable. Thanks for any advice!
Ps. I would be having a shop do all the work bc i have very little experience and no means to do this myself.

·
PostWhore, The AFDB is on a lil tight.
3,868 Posts
Im looking to do an engine swap with my 93 Tbird (stock v6 3.8 L) and was wondering if you guys would recommend a new crate engine that il have to piece mail the little parts after I Get it? Or should I go about finding a refurbished engine and just use that? I want about 300 HP (at least) at the wheels and something that looks half decent, but il be driving 100 miles between home and college so i need something reliable. Thanks for any advice!
Ps. I would be having a shop do all the work bc i have very little experience and no means to do this myself.
Get a 351 or a built 5.0. Basically the 5.0 is the best choice because it came in the car and is obd1 and getting 300 at the wheels is possible. Just my thoughts.

·
Registered
2,472 Posts
I would avoid a OEM replacement crate motor ie: Jasper and the like. I have had bad experiences with them. Either get a performance crate or a junkyard and build it. As far as engine goes I'd say a 5.0 (I'm leaning toward a TrickFlow setup on my 5.0).

Before you put a new engine in you need to get that AOD built.

·
Super Moderator
4,941 Posts