TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im looking to buy a performance crate engine (351 W) from this shop in phenoix and it shows all the parts that comes with it apparently it is going to be shipped ready to drive (tuned and broken in). Starting with just the stock components in my 93 Tbird and the parts listed in the pics i posted, what all do I need to make this transition? can i use my old air intake, power distribuitor..? I know il need a new flexplate and torque converter. I am a newbie so any help would be great thanks!

http://www.phoenixmusclecar.com/Ford-04.html

·
Super Moderator
4,926 Posts
Step one - buy a copy of the 1993 EVTM.

Step two - buy a copy of the 1993 Ford Service Manual.

(Note: Both are available on eBay off and on, and both are available from Helm Inc - www.helminc.com - again, off and on, depending on stock.)

Three - It is NOT going to be a drop in swap due to your car being a V6, not a 5.0HO V8. You'll need flex plate, torque converter, you'll need to fix the engine bay wiring.

Are you going to go carburated? If so, you've opened up a complete can of worms.

If you wish to go V8, I'd look for a 5.0HO donor - or plan on a long drawn out conversion process.

RwP

·
̇
3,701 Posts
Matthew93 Tbird said:
Im looking to buy a performance crate engine (351 W) from this shop in phenoix and it shows all the parts that comes with it apparently it is going to be shipped ready to drive (tuned and broken in). Starting with just the stock components in my 93 Tbird and the parts listed in the pics i posted, what all do I need to make this transition? can i use my old air intake, power distribuitor..? I know il need a new flexplate and torque converter. I am a newbie so any help would be great thanks!

Wow..Where do I begin?

I'll just say this..Take the budget you have set aside to buy the Engine with, and double it...Possibly triple it..
Depending on how far you want to go with this build..