TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Pedal Faster
2,658 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My GF goes to school in Michigan's UP and is graduating in December, so I'm heading out there for a week. I was looking at flights this morning and it looks like it's going to be about 300 from here to Detroit, then someone has to come from Flint and drive me up-state (6-7 hours). Then I got to thinking.

My car needs new tires, I've got a Trac-Loc pumpkin to go in, fuel prices are going down... what if I just drove out there? I think the fastest route from here (NW Oregon) is across the top of Idaho, Montana, Minnesota, North Dakota, Wisconsin, and in to the UP. Google says about 2200 miles.

What are the roads like on that route in winter? I'm not going to say I've got a lot of experience driving in snow, but I have, and did better than a lot of the people around me (the people who were doing 360s through intersections). Do the major highways in these states get cleared pretty regularly?

Particularly if I get my trac-loc diff installed, would it be good to drive the 'Bird?

I'm going to need the tires before winter comes in full effect here (gotta have something decent for the when the rains come), and I figure rather than throw 300-ish bucks at a flight, why not put that money toward fuel and lodging and get a scenic trip in the process. I know the car can do it mechanically, just wondering if a lowered V8 Bird is the right vehicle for that trip in December.

Give me your wisdom, oh wise mid-westerners. :bowdown:

·
Registered
6,195 Posts
Fly, don't trust the roads, you would use I-40 and that is hell in the winter. Save the wear on your Bird, Fly into Flint, and enjoy the ride north, Recommend renting a car here. We don't use chains out here either so.... just fly.

·
Registered
335 Posts
My state's practically tropical when compared to the northern guys, but I have driven both trac-loc and open diffs in the snow.