TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Motorboatin' SOB, Headlight Cleaning Guru
6,910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is out of a 95 sc with premium sound. im no audio expert, but the harnesses look modified so it can be used with the factory radio connectors. will this work in a bird that doesnt come with premium sound? if so, i am able to pull the factory radio and connect this one up. if not, then ill need the help of an expert. its a sony cdx-gt100 model, if it makes a difference.

·
Resident Line Creator
1,874 Posts
It will work, you just need to do some rewiring. The black connector contains all the speaker wiring, rather than being in the gray connector. If I were you, and want to play it safe, go get another harness for the radio for a car without the premium sound. That way you won't have a hack job and the chance of anything going wrong.

·
13's or Mildly Broken
2,676 Posts
My suggestion - pull the radio out of your 'Bird and if the harness on the stereo matches up to the car - then your set. And if not, head to Wal-Mart, Best Buy, or some audio place, and get a harness that will work. Then cut off what would connect to the SC w/premium sound and attach the new harness that you purchased and put it in the 'Bird.

Get all of that? haha
-Melon

·
PostSlut
13,597 Posts
the grey plug will work....the black won't.
you need to get another "wiring" kit, if you want plug and play.

·
Premium Member
9,165 Posts
Yea, I'm worried about the same thing (almost exactly)

I'm going to be pulling the stereo out of the LE and putting it in the LX. The LE came with the factory Premium Sound and the Sony that I put in it is wired into the Premium sound set up. The LX does not have Premium sound, so I don't think its gonna be a plug and play. Let me know how it goes Melon. I'll be watching!

·
13's or Mildly Broken
2,676 Posts