TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been doing the MN12 Tbird thing now for over 10 years. I've had 2, and teenage drivers and deer just keep jumping out in front of me.

My first was a 93 5.0, the second was a junked 93 3.8 that I swapped the 5.0/AOD into. That was a chore, but it ran like a top. 70mph into a deer later, now that 5.0/AOD is sitting in the shop floor ready to go into my 83 F-150 (carb truck).

I've got the mechanical stuff figured out (motor mounts, driveshaft, fuel pump/lines, etc.), but I'm about to dig into the harness. I'd like to just use components out of the 93 harness to make my own standalone that only operates the EFI, rather than drop $500+ on a new one.

It seems to me, just looking at the painless standalone harness that the only things behind the firewall are the fuel pump power, the neutral safety switch, and the barometric sensor (where exactly is that?). I'm planning to wire to the existing check engine light in the truck.

My questions are:
  1. Are those the only things I need to worry about not in the engine bay? (I'm doing smog & A/C delete)
  2. How to indicate shift position (thinking reverse lights) for that AOD?
  3. Is there anyone out there who has done this kind of thing?
I'm a newbie at creating posts, hope that is enough info.

·
Super Moderator
7,696 Posts