TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My buddy (who hates Fords) was giving me a bunch of horror stories on emission failures. If I go true dual with just the downpipe cats, will I fail emissions? I live in PA around Philly by the way.

·
Registered
903 Posts
V8Cougar, I'm an emissions inspector here in Cumberland County, PA. Does the county your in require a Dyno test w/ the sniffers, or just the OBDII (or in your case, the visual inspection)?

Let me know, and if your not sure, just let me know what county your car is registered in and I'll see what I can dig up for ya.

Brandon

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The car is registered in Bucks County, and I think its dyno testing around here, but I'm not sure. The car is a 1994 Cougar XR7 with a 4.6 V8. Thanks alot.

·
5,650 Posts
As far as emissions content, some say it will pass and some say it won't. Visually it won't pass if the inspectors know what should be there. Will the first 2 cats be enough? I think so as long as the engine is running as it should be. I'll find out in about 2 months, and I'm here in CA so if I pass, this issue will be set to rest.

·
Registered
255 Posts
well i know in ny 95 or lower they dont do emmissions

·
Registered
431 Posts
I am in Montgomery County and they do the OBDII hookup if possible. No sniffers then. However there is a visual inspection of the emissions equipment as well.

·
Registered
255 Posts
visual would be your only weak spot. try to find some cats that are cheap to use every year, you know

·
Registered
903 Posts
From PA's Emissions Webside:

Emission Test Results

Note: Vehicle emission tests are currently required in Bucks county.

County: Bucks
Year: 1994
Vehicle: Car
Tests: Dynamometer, Visual Check and Gas Cap Check
Note: Brand-new vehicles and vehicles driven under 5000 miles annually may qualify for an exemption sticker. Ask your service provider for more details.