TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wow, another reason why I love this forum, there are lots of engineers/ engineering majors out here. I was wondering, I know the job market isn't good for engineers right now. But for those that have have graduated already, were you able to find employment pre-graduation with a company under the notion that you would in turn, work for that company once you earned your degree?

What I'm saying is, in a few months I am going to be moving to SW PA to attend U-pitt. I kind of fell into it, but ever since I've been maybe 17 or so, I have been working in Logistics. I have a few years experience in it but not enough to get hired as a manager right off the bat for a company. Which means that if I got hired for another company, I would more than likely have to start at the bottom again. I would like to get a job that actually uses some of this education that I have been paying for for the last 2 years. Something that will at least allow me to get by on my own and pay living expenses once I move. I can likely get loans for tuition, so I'm not worried about that. What I make now in Logistics barely affords me enough to get by with the small bills I have now, and I don't even live on my own yet. But it's still the best paying job I've ever had so far (I make like 13.00 per hour, which isn't stellar for NJ) Anyone here know of any fields that can make use of 2 years (so far) of pre-engineering courses that will at least bring in $800.00 per month (take home) and does not require a degree yet? Even if it's doing pet projects, or just like a trainee position.

·
Registered
239 Posts
The engineering market, like other jobs and the economy goes up and down

its down now but by the time i'm out and probably when your out they'll be hiring like mad!!!!