TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found this deal on free motor oil after a mail-in rebate. It looks like it's sold through Wal-Mart, and it's a newer company that makes motor oil from beef tallow and "nanotechnology."

The brand is Green Earth Technologies, and it's 5W-30 full synthetic. It's API-SM rated, which makes it at least more trustworthy than Amsoil :)

I've never used it before, but I'll be giving it a go this weekend. It's pretty well reviewed on Amazon, too, so it's probably a good deal for the price of $0.

Coupon/Mail-in Rebate
http://www.getg.com/campaigns/request.php?cID=cad110407

Amazon's reviews
http://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B002CP9426/

Cheers!

·
WOT Junkie and avid corn burner
3,734 Posts
I wouldn't try it until someone proves straight up that it is just as good as Motorcraft oil at the strip and in the long run.

·
WOT Junkie and avid corn burner
3,734 Posts
Maybe I'm just old school, I know I'm 21 lol, but when I see something that's "green" this and "green" that, I tend to doubt it's effectiveness. Most of those reviews were by people driving 4 cylinder econo-boxes and most likely can't tell the difference.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'm glad to see there's some interest. I have the same gut feeling as many of you. Still, I trust the API-SM rating. I feel like more than anything, I'm putting that API seal to the test. This oil should be the same as any other full-synth API-SM certified oil, as far as I'm concerned.

I'm going to do an oil change tomorrow, and I'll report back here with my results. I won't be taking the car to the track anytime soon, but I will pay attention to how the oil performs long-run in mixed city/highway use. I won't be sending it in for oil analysis, either, but I'll let you know how it looks and runs between changes.