TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Amateur Expert
1,662 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was taking my kid to baseball practice tonight and was pulled over within 50 feet of my driveway by our 2 week new city cop for not wearing my seatbelt. Literally, I pulled out of my driveway, turned left, saw him pass me, then he turned around and pulled me over all within a block. Needless to say I'm pissed, but for a few reasons:

1. The chime that reminds you that you aren't wearing your seatbelt hadn't even gone off yet. I had no chance to be reminded that I forgot it!

2. He asked me if the address was correct on my license and I stated yes, that he'd pulled me over almost in front of my house. I also told him who I am, what I do for a living, and that my wife works for the county circuit clerk. Usually here in small town USA that makes a difference, it had for me in the past. Not this time.

3. Since my wife works for the circuit clerk, I called one of her co-workers who deals with traffic citations all day long. She told me I could go to court and try to fight it/ask for supervision but I would still have to pay court costs of $140. Doesn't make sense when the ticket is $55. So, basically the system is rigged so you would be an idiot to take a small ticket to court, even if you're innocent (not saying I am). She told me the best chance I have to fight it was to talk to the police chief (who I know pretty well) and explain what happened and see if he might be willing to ask the state's attorney to drop the charges. I'll be doing this tomorrow.

4. Talking to other people in town, they too have expressed displeasure in seeing many more people being pulled over the past couple weeks than what is normal in our little town. I think he's taking his job a bit too seriously! Probably doesn't help that his father used to be police chief in our county seat, Dixon.

·
Refrigerator Raider Hater
11,719 Posts