TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Granted, I have zero experience messing with rear diffs/gearing.

I spoke to someone about swapping in higher gears, 3.73 or higher, and he said to watch out, I'll have more punch off the line, but I'll lose pull on highway speeds, let's say going from 60-90 would be slower. That didn't sound right to me, since I thought the only real difference is the powerband (rpm in reference to mph) is shifted and gas mileage b/c of this.

Any info would be helpful as to whether or not this is true.

·
Administrator
4,161 Posts
He's an idiot. Lower gears will improve pull in EVERY gear and at EVERY speed.

·
Super Moderator
12,657 Posts
That's BS. Your car will pull more strongly at all speeds.

He may have been referring to the loss of top speed. Your top speed will be reduced to about 85 MPH and you'll need to reprogram the computer to get your top speed back. A driveshaft upgrade is also a highly recommended with taller gears.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
He's an idiot. Lower gears will improve pull in EVERY gear and at EVERY speed.
sounds good. yeah, he was just some guy that I didn't even know and met at a car meet. didn't think it sounded right, but didn't have any personal experience to go with it.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That's BS. Your car will pull more strongly at all speeds.

He may have been referring to the loss of top speed. Your top speed will be reduced to about 85 MPH and you'll need to reprogram the computer to get your top speed back. A driveshaft upgrade is also a highly recommened with taller gears.
will I be able to reprogram the top speed back with an xcal2? Will I be able to get the same top speed back?

·
Super Moderator
12,657 Posts