TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is probably going to sound like a stupid question, but I've just re-connected my battery need to enter my radio code, and can't find any instructions how to do it.

I've found what I think is the code (written on the plastic Ford card that has the VIN no. on it), and I've managed to enter the code into the radio so that it shows in the display, but I don't know how to actually "enter" the number to unlock the stereo. What button do have to push????

And before I get messages from people telling me "search is my friend" I tried searching, and can't find the info.

Thanks in advance fom the muppet on the other side of the pond :)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
348 Posts
What does the display say when you turn it on?
If it just says CODE or ----, then use the 1 key repeatedly for the first number, 2 key for the second, etc, to 4... then when right code is shown, press 5...
If yours has the Select button, then you use it to enter the code (and you may need to press it initially to get the CODE to come up)....
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Icarus said:
What does the display say when you turn it on?
If it just says CODE or ----, then use the 1 key repeatedly for the first number, 2 key for the second, etc, to 4... then when right code is shown, press 5...
If yours has the Select button, then you use it to enter the code (and you may need to press it initially to get the CODE to come up)....
Thanks Icarus. When I turn the ignition on the radio says AAAAAHAA in the display. I got to the point where you select the numbers using the keys 1 to 4, it was what I had to do to "enter" the number that I wasn't sure about.

I'm pretty sure I tried pressing the enter button, and that just wiped out the number I'd just put into the display. I'll try it again in a minute though. I didn't try to many times yesterday as I was afraid the radio would lock me out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
348 Posts
Whats the radio out of?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Radio is in my 1994 T-bird 4.6
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
348 Posts
So the unit is a 1994 model one? I didn't think they required a code then.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Its definitely asking for a code. Maybe someone has changed the stereo in the past?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
348 Posts
How many times have you tried? You may need to either leave it on for an hour or two (key in acc. postion) or it may be locked out. If its totally locked out, you may need to send it away. I think Fords only let you try 10x, then you need to leave it on for a couple hours to reset it, then after thast you need to send it away.
The Select button is the ^ key. Press the presets 1-4 for each number (ie: press 1 - 3 times to get three.) Then press Select once code is in, or you may need to press 5 to enter it.
So the head unit is the original one, or from a 2006 vehicle(and if so, what kind?), or a radio model 2006?
I'm not sure what else to tell you, other than maybe pull the radio and send me the serial number and I'll hopefully let you know if the code is right...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
The head unit as far as I know id the original. I'll try to enter the code when I can drag myself outside (its midday here). If it doesnt work following your instructions, I'll get the serial no. off the back.

Thanks for your help, I'll post again in a few hrs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
348 Posts
I'm pretty certain '94 units didn't require a code. I'd say theres some kind of problem with your head unit...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
OK I tried entering the serial no. again, it gave me 1 chance then it won't even let me enter any numbers now. I think I've ben locked out. I've taken the unit out of the car, details are as follows:
Model: 2006 Date: 1998 (so some British muppet has changed it)
Serial No. L045239
Ford R93FB-18K876-GB

I think however, unless it unlocks itself after a number of hours, I may have to get a new one. There are a few about over here on Ebay as they were fitted to lots of UK Ford cars.

What do you think?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
348 Posts
I'd hook it back up and leave it on for a few hours (or keep an eye on it) and see if it allows you to enter a code then, hook a trickle charger to the battery if your worried about it... Try 5037 for the code then if it lets you.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Thanks Icarus I'll try that later, when I get home from work.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,165 Posts
Until this moment, I've never heard of the factory radios requiring any kind of code. I've had both stock AM/FM Cassette decks and the Premium sound system CD players and neither required any kind of code.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
348 Posts
Thats what I thought too. It sounds like someone may have switched the radio at one time or another from the info/date etc he listed on the side of it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,923 Posts
Don't European Radios tune at a different Freq. then North american Radios??

the Range i think is the same, it's just the Steps in the Feq tuning that's different.. if that's the case.. yes the radio would have been swaped out..
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
I've heard of people importing cars from the US to the UK, and having problems with the radio. Our FM stations tune to any frequency xxx.1mhz to xxx.9mhz, but I think yours only tune to xxx.2, 4, 6, 8?? Or something like that. I think the newer cars are generally ok, but some of the older ones can cause a problem.

Anyway I now know that my stereo has been changed at some point. That may explain whey there was no mention of adding codes to get it going in my handbook!

I've got another radio hopefully to pick up tonight, although I'm gonna try Icarus's code in my old on so that I can get my MP3 cassette adapter out. Some of the buttons on my old unit didn't work too well anyway.

I'm hopefully going to get a Ford 2005 stereo (originally fitted to a UK Ford Escort XR3 dating from 1990). Its similar to the 2005 model but has a couple of twisty knobs rather than rocker switches. Should plug straight in, and comes with its code too.

I think the Ford stereos are really good and give good sound, so can't see any point in paying the earth to get a newer one. Plus I don't want to hack about with the wiring.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,180 Posts
I think the Ford stereos are really good and give good sound, so can't see any point in paying the earth to get a newer one.
Actually decent feature ladden car stereos are about as cheap as they've ever been considering they play CD's MP3's etc. Used to be $100 would get you an no-name/store-brand-name awful piece of crap stereo with a cassette deck in it. Today $100 gets you a nice usable low end name brand decent sounding AM/FM/CD/MP3 with AUX inputs, line level RCA's out etc. etc. etc. It's crazy how much better they are for the same price you used to pay. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,923 Posts
Andy625UK said:
I've heard of people importing cars from the US to the UK, and having problems with the radio. Our FM stations tune to any frequency xxx.1mhz to xxx.9mhz, but I think yours only tune to xxx.2, 4, 6, 8?? Or something like that. I think the newer cars are generally ok, but some of the older ones can cause a problem.

I think the Ford stereos are really good and give good sound, so can't see any point in paying the earth to get a newer one. Plus I don't want to hack about with the wiring.
I've seen European radios tune in a .05 steps, and yah in North america (I'm in canada) FM tunes in at .2 the differences in AM Here is like by 10's over there it's like by 9's??
Sorry been awhile since i've installed a `world' radio (Had a setting in the menu as to what part of the world it was in to adjust tuning, ect :) )

Well Personally when i went from the good ol' Push Button AM radio with single 4x10 in dash speaker to my '91 with the JBL system.. i was like `I've NEVER heard a factory stereo sound this good'
But yah you can easily get decent aftermarket decks on the cheap.. We've install them at work.. okay features, decent power/sound quality (for what they are) and well gets the job done :) OH and we deal with Clarion at work, not the best, but not the worse :)
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top