TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday morning I saw a large puddle of transmission fluid underneath where the bellhousing is. I'm not quite sure if my front pump seal is going, but that is what I'm guessing at this point (if it might be something else, let me know) until I take a closer look this weekend. How do you replace the seal and how hard is the whole process? I consider myself a novice when it comes to working on cars; I can do it, but it takes me longer than most.

Thanks for your replies!

·
Registered
2,638 Posts
Someone told me before that if there is a puddle of transmission fluid when the car has been sitting and not running then it is probably not the front seal. The reason for this is that the fluid is below the front seal when the car is not running.
I would check the pan gasket first. Someone correct me if I am wrong; that is just what I have been told and I am no transmission expert.

·
Registered
480 Posts
had an 82 camaro the front pump bushing and seal went bad on and it leaked worse after the car was shut off rather than running.

same way with an 89 gt stang i had with the oil pan gasket on the motor, wouldnt leak while running but drained a quart or 2 on the ground after i shut it off.

:zdunno: :zdunno:

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
you have to pull the transmission out to get to the front pump which is behind the converter.you can use a rear axel puller and a larger bolt that threads onto the pump to get the pump out.pump is held on by 8 mm standered threads i believe.you will need a 10mm to thread on the pump it self.i also believe there are only 2 places out of the 7 or 8 holes you can put the bolt.but i whould doubt your front seal is leaking.

·
Registered
348 Posts
...I don't recall offhand where the dipstick goes into the case, but maybe also check first to see if it is coming from the dipstick tube o-ring, may save you a bit of work ;)

·
Premium Member
6,617 Posts