TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Title says it all. I am a bit of a noob in general to cars, with a below average concept of vehicles. That being said, I want to supercharge my 96 LX 4.6 Thunderbird with 68k miles.

I was looking at this, and was wondering if I could just bolt it on. I have a small idea of what internals I'll need to upgrade to make it reliable. I already am looking into a custom hood to fit it.

I am looking for what internally I should be upgrading before I should even consider this. Also, what kind of power would a supercharged 4.6 make?

·
Registered
698 Posts
No. An M90 from a GTP will not bolt on.

There is no way to piece this together your self. I tried.

Youll have to either get a Torque Tech Kit, a Paxton/Vortec/Procharger, a Saleen Kit, or an SVO Kit. The easiest and quickest to do is to get a Vortec kit and bolt it on. Itll cost a couple grand but comes with everything.

Youll need to upgrade the transmission. Do a Jmod and get an 11in torque converter with a higher stall.

The 4.6 is a stout motor. Keep it below 400whp and youll be fine with the stock bottom and.

If your gonna spend the cash on a blower, get a set of Comp Cams for the NPI heads and swap to a PI intake. That swap alone will probably worth 25-30 hp. But itll make the blower just that more potent.

·
Super Moderator
1994 Cougar XR7 DOHC/5-Speed
18,088 Posts
An M90s too small for a 4.6 anyway. Supercharging isn’t cheap, you can find 5 of superchargers at your local pick n pull junkyard, but they are very specifically tailored to the cars they were designed for by GM, and if you look at those 3800s sans blower you’ll notice they have a specific manifold and accessory drive to accommodate it, your 4.6 would need the same and they don’t exist outside of kits designed around different superchargers.

·
Registered
1,029 Posts