TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car is a 1994 Thunderbird LX it is Xeon side skirts on it and front and rear super Coupe bumpers 17 inches rims and a stock spoiler from a 96 I'm also putting a vfn 3 inch cowl hood on it. Will this stop me from being able to register it as a classic do the even there minimal body changes.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
8,053 Posts
You would probably be better off checking with your local DMV and insurance company.

Joe
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,472 Posts
Joe has the best answer, but generally speaking yes your car will not be eligible, though could look at street/hot rod tag. Also most places will have yearly mileage restrictions on classics too--this is why my truck (all original 90 F150 w/ 560k+) has standard tags, plus not a big savings for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,916 Posts
Always check your local laws, but I see lots of custom cars with classic plates. The classic plates here only require the car to be of a certain age, They don't care what modifications you've done to it.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
12,081 Posts
Car needs to be 25years old for classic car tag
Ask again in three years. :tongue:

But seriously it's scary how close we are to "Classic" Status by some definitions.

In North Carolina there is no distinction between "Classic" and "Antique". The NCDMV lumps both categories into the catch-all called "Antique-Vehicle" and the cut off for that is 35 years - As measured from original date of manufacture.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
17,042 Posts
Some states it's 20. There's no one size fits all answer to the question without knowing the origin state

Mods? Here at least I see quite a few Muscle cars with classic plates that have dressed up engine compartments and mag wheels, which few came with back in the day. I doubt they're that picky, just don't put something stupid like a transformers decal on the hood and I don't think you'll raise eyebrows elsewhere.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
NJ:

Brief Description & Eligibility - Historic registration may be assigned to an antique vehicle which is at least twentyfive
(25) years old. The vehicle must be owned as a collector’s item and used solely for exhibition or educational purposes.
Please note that the vehicle cannot be altered from the manufacturer’s original design in any way and must be equipped for
legal operation on New Jersey roadways. Historic registration must be renewed every three (3) years, but there will be nofee
for the renewal.
The vehicle must be covered by the minimum automobile insurance coverage required by the State of New Jersey.
Requirements - Please return your fully completed application with the following documents: 1) A photocopy of the current New Jersey
title issued in your name. 2) Two color photographs of the vehicle, front and side view (may be printed on plain paper). 3) Pay required fee as
follows: $44.00 – Standard Historic Plates; $74.00 - Courtesy Historic Plates; $94.00 – Personalized Historic Plates but if you already own
standard historic plates, the personalized fee is $50.00.


http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/pdf/Vehicles/historic-samples.pdf
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,863 Posts
When I lived in PA, I was able to get a classic plate for my 64 Plymouth. Then I moved out of state like a year later! Eventually sold the car, but I kept the plate!

Al
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,370 Posts
California is 25 years and older to be considered classic car. However, if the car is registered as a classic car, there are mileage restrictions to 5k miles/yr or less. Lastly, if the car was manufactured after 1975 but is at least 25yrs old, it still has to be smogged every other year.

There was a bill that was making it's way to exempt the smog part for cars older than 25yrs, but I haven't heard much about that.
 

·
The Parts Guy
Joined
·
7,326 Posts
No issues with mods here in MO. As long as it's at least 25 years old, you can get historic plates. I run them on my XR7.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,863 Posts
When I got my classic plates, I had to send pics, and they decided if it was "classic plate" worthy or not.

Al
 

·
Cougar Pilot
Joined
·
3,443 Posts
Always check your local laws, but I see lots of custom cars with classic plates. The classic plates here only require the car to be of a certain age, They don't care what modifications you've done to it.
Minnesota has "COLLECTOR" plates, and a vehicle has to be 20 years old. I ordered mine Jan 2nd or so in 2014.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,916 Posts
Minnesota has "COLLECTOR" plates, and a vehicle has to be 20 years old. I ordered mine Jan 2nd or so in 2014.
Yeah, but as far as I know classic or collector plates don't require a car be stock.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Members posted lots of information for you, unfortjnately none of it applies to Michigan.

Here's a link to your dmv's website regarding classic/antique plates. SOS - Historical Plates

There is no information provided regarding customization, so i wouldn't be too concerned about that. It is listed as being for cars 26 years or older. While the lassic plates will provide you a cost savings,there are restrictions on use. The rules basically mean that your vehicle can only be used for exhibition and show use. This doesn't apply during the month of August though, to allow better access for the dream cruise. There do appear to be a fair amount of complaints fro m car oeners who were ticketed because an officer felt they were not using their car for an allowed event when spotted.

Historical vehicles
A historical vehicle must be:
26 or more years old
Owned solely as a collector's item
Used only for events such as historical club activities, parades and car show
Note: A vehicle registered with a historical or authentic plate cannot be used for routine, day-to-day transportation
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,673 Posts
California is 25 years and older to be considered classic car. However, if the car is registered as a classic car, there are mileage restrictions to 5k miles/yr or less. Lastly, if the car was manufactured after 1975 but is at least 25yrs old, it still has to be smogged every other year.

There was a bill that was making it's way to exempt the smog part for cars older than 25yrs, but I haven't heard much about that.
Apparently while cars 25 years or older in CA and are of "historical interest" may be registered as "historical vehicles", any historical vehicles mfg after 1976 are NOT exempt from smog.
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/wcm/connect/b6694537-9245-49f4-93ff-f577dbe0abf6/12vin12.pdf?MOD=AJPERES

I doubt the second part will happen in CA while there's a supermajority of Dems in the legislature. With all the fear of that Trump may do with the EPA at the federal level, the Dems in CA are more likely to dig in. Giving smog exempt status to a small number of cars to pollute more won't be allowed because that would place them on a "slippery slope" -- much like how the NRA feels about gun laws.

I suspect that one of these days, probably around my midlife crisis point, the itch to have a cool modded CA legal car is going to finally overwhelm me and I'm going to suck it up and pay the stupid premium to get an E-Rod engine setup so I will be able to drop in a car and keep is street legal. Like an FD. or an E30. Or a Volvo Amazon/P1800.

-g
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top