TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the wonderful world of MN12s, I just bought my 95 T-Bird 4.6L last week. The guy I bought it from said a mechanic told him the torque converter was going out, and I just thought I'd ask if this was a common problem. A buddy of mine said not to worry about it unless the transmission starts to give me problems. I noticed a bad symptom today going slow up a hill when the car almost stalled on me. Thanks for any input.

DAVE

·
Registered
615 Posts
the problem in these trannies is the excessive heat they build, which in turn breaks down your tranny fluid. Once the tranny fluid gets burned the Torque Converter gets shudders because of excessive friction, if you do not fix this problem it will eventually damage your transmission.

How to fix it:

If this problem has been persistent for a while then you will need a new TC, just upgrade to the Markviii TC it will give you a performance boost and is relatively inexpensive.

Also drain your tranny completely including the TC and replace it with MERCON V fluid. Also add a transmission cooler to save the life of your Mercon V.

·
MaleWhore
2,640 Posts
how much would a shop charge(average, i know it is diff everywhere) to replace a TC...

·
Registered
3,178 Posts
Well, yes the TC's are known to be problematic, especially 94-5 ones. However I'd doubt it would make you stall going uphill... usually TC's shudder (feels like rumble strips or train tracks, generally over 35-45mph range). However I disagree about leaving it go until it breaks. If your TC shudders, swap to Mercon V fluid and add a cooler. If this does not help, you need to replace the TC, or it will eventually fail the trans. Not meant to scare you, just giving a heads up.

Smoky, I'd expect say 350 to R&R a trans and swap the TC at an average shop. It really depends on who does the work.

·
Registered
2,894 Posts