TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
855 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,........just wondering if the lower balljoint could be lubricated or if you have to replace it when it's dry.........for some reason i'm gettting a clunking noise in my front suspension that's random and i just changed the front ball joint not too long ago on that side (drivers side).......thought that maybe something else needed lubrication.

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
I'm no supension expert... but I had to have something called the "sway bar end links" replaced not too long ago. Sounds something like what you describe. I first noticed a knocking on the cobblestones on a trip to New Orleans and it got steadily worse as time went on.

And watch out for the Ford dealer.. they wanted $1100 to fix this - another shop (that I trust and has a better rep) charged me $250 to do.

·
Registered
299 Posts
The only way to grease them is to buy joints with a zerk fitting (the little thing you squirt grease into). The ones from Autozone have them, but make sure they are the 90 degree type or else it is a pain to get to them.

·
8,239 Posts
Damn dude. I just did all four sway bar endlinks in my driveway with handtools. They are like 40 bucks a piece at autozone. I can't beleive ford's price was such a rip. But, I would never take my car to the dealer, unless for warantee/recall work.

JH

doodaa said:
I'm no supension expert... but I had to have something called the "sway bar end links" replaced not too long ago. Sounds something like what you describe. I first noticed a knocking on the cobblestones on a trip to New Orleans and it got steadily worse as time went on.

And watch out for the Ford dealer.. they wanted $1100 to fix this - another shop (that I trust and has a better rep) charged me $250 to do.

·
Registered
1,739 Posts
Upgrade said: