TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone

I have the rare chance to get hold of a practically new T-Bird TC from 1987. It has 800 miles and has never been licensed so is supposed to be like new.

Has anyone here experience with cars like that? Is it something like a chance of a lifetime or should I expect trouble after trouble even if it's like new? I'll have to find out when I test drive it if it was well stored and looked after or if it got a lot of deterioration in storage. The seller would give it to me with fresh licensing from the vehicle authority, so will be technically good.

I don't have the time and money to spend on restoration or maintenance but would really like to get this car as it would be a bit a dream come true.

I would appreciate any opinions and experiences.

·
Banned
575 Posts
I'm no expert but I have had buddies purchase cars that sat for years in storage..
Depending on storage conditions , I would expect a lot of the seals and rubber on the car to be dry cracked..
Has it sat with all the fluids in it? I wouldn't do a thing until I regreased and changed every fluid in the car, filters too while your at it...
If it's a price that you can't pass up...jump on it..seriously..i can see the turbo coupes becoming very popular soon as small engine turbo has become the craze .
May I ask what you plan on spending on it?

·
Super Moderator
7,528 Posts