TCCoA Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
1997 Ford Thunderbird LX
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! Well I'm now the proud owner of a 97 Thunderbird LX 4.6! My buddy was awesome and gave it to me after he let it sit for 5 years because well...he's a car guy and had too many cars and projects and I needed a ride.The car only has 72k, some bits of rust here and there but fixable. So I went and dropped $800 on tuneup parts. Air filter, plugs, wires, fuel filter, oil and oil filter, wipers, coolant, and the list goes on to brakes, calipers and rotors. Well I would post pictures but Underbird is in the shop. I had her for a week and blew the front right brakeline in front of the wheel well and she's creaking and cracking on every turn so I'm guessing bushings or maybe bad ball joint. This car is my daily now and I dont have time to do all the work that needs to be done. So yeah I took her to the shop. I am relatively new to working on cars so this is my learning. This forum comes up every question I google and I love it. My buddy is a mechanic and I've been driving him nuts with questions so I've chosen to come here and talk with you fine people. Seeing and hearing about your projects have made me even more excited to start to build this bird up. Funds and time are limited but we will get there.

·
Registered
398 Posts
Congratulations on the new car!

I'm fairly new to these cars myself; however, I can tell you that the consensus on this site is to err on the side of caution when it comes to ball joints, because a failure could be fatal.

In our case, the bottom ball joint is of the load-bearing type.

I bought my '97 in March. The car had 39,000 miles at the time. The steering was very heavy and made loud binding/rubbing noises when steering at a standstill. Replacing upper and lower ball joints (and control arms) fixed that issue entirely.
Done by a shop, this service isn't cheap. But better be safe than sorry.