TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

Just picked up this lump about a week ago, thought it would be cool to have a V8 semi-hot rod again, don't know what the hell I was thinking, but regardless I own this baby now. '91 5.0 HO btw...And yes, I've fallen in love with it already.
Needs massive suspension work and a few other issues, but overall, seems to be a good car. Clock stopped a few weeks ago at 98,000 miles.

#1)The oil light flickers occassionally while in drive with my foot on the brake.
(The sender and wires are saturated in oil also), so I'm wondering if this has happened to anyone else and if it is something to be concerned about. The light just flickers though, it does not stay on.

#2)The engine bay is filthy. Any issues with powerwashing the engine compartment?
I used to do it all the time when I was a Ford tech (C), but back then these cars were new, and I never had any problems. So is there anything that would need to be protected (other than the obvious components) during a power wash?

#3)Hard starts. After a forum search, I'm pretty sure it's the fuel pump, but not 100% convinced yet. Cranks and cranks if you just try to turn the key to start, eventually, it'll start. Most times...
If I turn the key on/off 5 or 6 times to "prime it", she'll start right up.
Could this possibly be nothing other than it being in need of a massive tuen-up? or do any of you agree with the fuel pump possibility?

#4)Tune-up parts recommendations? Cap, rotor, plugs wire etc? Which brand is best for these cars? it's bone stock, but eventually I'm going up the hp a little bit, pretty much bolt on stuff only, so I'm thinking of something a little performance oriented like MSD, Accel, etc...

Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks!

·
Registered
2,662 Posts
Hi.