TCCoA Forums banner

newbie here 1990 supercoupe

2K views 24 replies 8 participants last post by  jollyrogerbus223 
#1 ·
ok.
new owner of a 1990 supercoupe and not hear to complain or gripe. long story short?
am going for the head gaskets this weekend. old school mechanic so i could tell what i was getting into to do this.
my question is about manuals for these cars?
i am not a fan of haynes and used to love the old chiltons but haynes owns chiltons now and have tried to find a ford shop manual since my son is a ford mechanic now but they dont have anything that old?
the stuff on the computer for ford shop manuals are either buy a book and hope you get the right one you need or download from emanuel or several others.
my auto parts stores caint even get a haynes manual they can only sell me a link to download?
i aint scared of it and can/will do the work. just really want torque specs for install.
i know that a haynes manual has all that in there in a chart but if anyone has an an all inclusive manual and where to get my own would save me the run around
newbie thanks for advice

maybe i should have said the 3.8 supercharged if anything else was installed in the supercoupe in 90?

See less See more
#2 ·
Shop manuals, or Bibles, are very rare. Youll have to keep an eye out on ebay, our for sale page, our facebooks sale page, and SCCoA.

In the mean time:

BoltTighten in (4) steps:
Step 1.-
Tighten bolts in sequence shown to: 50 Nm (37 lb-ft) 60 Nm (45 lb-ft) 70 Nm (52 lb-ft) 80 Nm (59 lb-ft)

Step 2.
-
a) Back off all bolts one at a time 2-3 revolutions and retighten in numerical sequence as follows:
Step 3.-
b) Tighten long and short bolts in sequence to 65-75 Nm (48 lb-ft).

Step 4.-
c) Rotate long and short bolts in sequence an additional 90-110 degrees

Here is the bolt sequence if needed.

I recommend using ARP studs instead of bolts. The extra clamping force they are capable of doesnt let head lift. They like to do that.

#4 ·
#5 ·