TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up guys? I am new to the Thunderbird world, but not new to the Ford world. I have an 89 Mustang GT and have done quite a few mods to it. Although the Mustang gets most of my extra money, I am going to be doing some VERY cheap and free mods to the Tbird.

First off, I have a 94 Tbird LX 4.6. I have noticed that when it shifts from 1st to 2nd, under light acceleration, it tends to vibrate for a few seconds then stop. I have done a search on this forum for the problem and came across someone saying to flush the tranny and converter and that will solve the problem. Is this true? If not what is causing this vibration and what can be done about it.

Thanks alot guys and I look forward to picking your brains in the future.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
4,205 Posts
You could start there, but usually the dreaded torque converter shutter shows itself between drive and overdrive first. I'm not sure of the actual symptoms of it going bad, but 94's are notorious for MLPS sensor going out, but I'm sure someone will tell you if it would cause your symptoms.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Jurgen said:
do you feel like its the trans or the tc viberating or more like engine mount or trans mount ? does it do it in D or only like you said when u go from 1 and 2
It's not engine mounts. It happens when the shifter is in D. I'm gonna guess it feels like the TC because it keeps driving fine, just vibrating as if I where driving over the little bumps on the side of a highway that are meant to wake you up if you fall asleep.

·
Registered
799 Posts
Yep, sounds like TC shudder to me. Flush out the fluids and replace with Mecron V not III tranny fluid. If that doesn't work, well..........

·
Registered
384 Posts