TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
987 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I have said it before, I am not a mechanic... Can someone please post a real simple easy walk through of the steps? Yeah, I have never done it before, never seen someone do it, or had any education... But I figure what the hey, might as well give it a shot right? I have all the tools (drain bucket and "wrench"(my hand)) and am just not sure how to do it. Thank you in advance...

Sam

·
Registered
987 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Please someone entertain yourself with insulting me with and answer :) Was hoping to do tonight... I will probably do it without any response, however responses would save me from having to post a sob story about how I F'ed everything up... See I have such a high opinion of myself, you can't help but jot down a quick response...

Sam

·
Registered
632 Posts
Ok, its not hard at all

1) raise the front end of the car up (or front corner). Do not use your spare tire jack, get ramps or a real jack with jackstands.

2) open your hood, and unscrew the oil cap on the vlavle cover.

3) Put pan under oil pan underneath the car.

4) Unbold the screw that is at the bottom of the oil pan, oil will run out.

5) Remove the filter, its kinda a pain in the butt to get to the first time. It has to go through a "path", and you'll end up damping the oil filter contents out.

6) Screw in a new MOTORCRAFT (not fram) oil filter. Hand-tighten it.

7) Lower car

8) Fill up the car with 5qts of oil. I use 5w30 Castrol GTX - others use other oils

9) Screw the cap back on the valve cover

10) Run the car for a minute, then shut if off and check the oil with the dipstick, it should be fine with 5 qts.

-Andrey

·
Registered
2,983 Posts
Women:

1. Pull up to Jiffy Lube 3000 miles after the last oil change.
2. Drink a cup of coffee.
3. Fifteen minutes later, write a check and leave with a properly maintained vehicle.

Men: