TCCoA Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know everyone is going to say "It's not possible" and "You'd be wasting your time", but I've been toying with the idea of dropping a 6.8 liter V-10 into my '97. It's part of Ford's modular motor family (4.6, 5.4, 6.8). I know this is the place to ask these questions, so I was wondering, the physical size of the engine aside, what would be the biggest hurdles to completing this swap? Please don't waste time posting "it's a bad idea" or "it won't work". I'm looking for help to find out what would have to be done electronically, and transmission-wise, as well as motor information. I know where to get the motor, as well, $3,995.

·
Registered
903 Posts
I'm no expert,

But as far as I know, all the V-10's were Coil on Plug setups, so You'd have to convert over to that, but you'd have to run the whole v10 PCM and all that stuff anyway.

Another thing I've noticed, the intake plenums are HUGE on them, so definatly a custom intake or a really big cowl hood :)

Like I said, no expert, just some ideas

I think it would be awsome to see it done, Good Luck!

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well, i read the specs on the V10. The bore and stroke are identical to the 5.4, and i know the 5.4 fits. i think the biggest mechanical hurdle would be mounting the engine, and relocating the radiator if necessary. and making the headers fit of course. but if i understand correctly, the 5.4 and the 6.8 are roughly the same height and width. the length is the concern. but the transmissions are the same as the 5.4, and the 5.4 requires a Cobra flexplate or something like that to bolt up. and i know a serious transmission overhaul is required. just tossing the idea around in my head.

·
Registered
2,806 Posts

·
Amateur Expert
1,662 Posts