TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at a "new" car for my wife.
Found a 2006 Ford Taurus SEL with about 35,000 miles.
Sticker on windshield in a picture says $7944 but listing online says $9,000 - not sure what's going on there.
Any opinions on this gen Taurus - they are everywhere down here so they must not be THAT bad.

Just asking, as I trust this forum more than anything else!

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,996 Posts
I have a lot of experience with that vintage Taurus. They are good, reliable work horses. The base Vulcan 3.0 is a reliable engine, the DOHC 3.0 Duratec is a faster choice. All of the old transmission problems that GEN had was corrected by the time 2006 rolled around. The Taurus actually had bigger breaks than our Thunderbirds did.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy it if everything checks out.

·
Registered
3,752 Posts
My mom drives an 06 bull with the 3.0. Has been a solid driver since they got it in 07. It was a promo car. I just swapped out the original plugs/wires and fuel filter about a month back.

·
Super Moderator
7,484 Posts