TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
927 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As you can see from my signature, I am selling my lovely 97 LX. But, I still have the old 96 Sport with 207k miles.

When I last had it running, it sounded great for the mileage-no ticks or knocks, etc. I'm a complete newb, so does the 4.6 sound any different when it is dying, or will there be some noise to indicate something is wrong?

I think the car is solid. There is only surface rust on the rocker panels and under the car--but it was never babied either. If you search my other threads, you'll see that I"ve had it on jack stands a few times, :rolleyes: :tongue: and I've never noticed any body flex.

Here's the bad part: it has no brakes. It doesn't run now--the fuel pump went bad about 2-3 days after I fixed the water pump. And, the battery is dead. (but maybe I can get it replaced--it's less than a year old.)

So, finally, here's the question: Should I sell it as it sits for what I can get, fix it enough to make it street legal and sell it, or... maybe I could make it a hobby/project to fix it up really nice. (see explanation below)

If I fix it up as a hobby, I won't lose much if I ruin something while learning, and if everything gets fixed/replaced, the mileage won't matter as much to the performance/reliability of the car. Also, I will be able to do to this car what I originally wanted to do to the 97.

But, the phrase "you can't polish a turd" keeps running through my head.

Sorry this was so long, thanks for staying :) . Opinions/comments?

·
Registered
61 Posts