TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I'm not an auto mechanic, but I am TRYING to learn everything about my car that I can fix or maintain. I have a shop manual and a Haynes repair book for my 1996 Thunderbird 4.6L V8.

My current challenge is the dash temperature gauge maxing out (and tripping the Check Gauges light). The gauge goes to max, and either stays there, or after 5 to 10 minutes drops very quickly to half or two-thirds range. When the needle moves, it fully moves in seconds! I've connected a code scanner to the ECM and the internal engine temp shows between 175 - 215 F while I drive it this way. I don't think this temp is abnormal right? The fan radiator seems to run when it should.

THIS GAUGE ISSUE BEGAN right after a mechanic told me to drive the car home with the coolant reservoir cap loose and let it sit overnight before tightening. He had put some silicone around the plug wells as a VERY short term fix due to a leaky intake manifold causing misfire on cylinder 4. (I've read this is a common misfire issue.)

I quit driving the car when the gauge acted up. I took it to another mechanic shop for new intake manifold, thermostat, plugs, and plug wires. The gauge continues to max out or drop suddenly. The shop thinks it is the gauge itself because they changed the sending unit and it still has the issue. They say they spent hours of unbilled time on it and so I told them to leave it.

Any ideas would be helpful and greatly appreciated.

Thank You,

Racingmustang

·
Super Moderator
7,479 Posts
I have never seen a temp gauge fail in such a way that it intermittently pegs the gauge. My first thought would be that it is low on coolant. I would hope the shop would check that prior to spending so much time trying to diagnose it, but I have seen more obvious things missed by supposedly trained professional mechanics.

·
Registered
4,147 Posts