TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife is looking to replace the plug wires on her bird and we are not too sure what ones to go with. I found some at Ford Racing, but the don't list any for the 4.6 t-bird. Here is the link, Ford Racing Wires Would the mustang ones work? Other options?

·
Boom.
5,238 Posts
The wires for the 96-98 Mustang GT will work...I'd recommend you stick with Motorcraft though. FRPP look nice, but many people report poor quality, myself included.

·
Boom.
5,238 Posts
I personally use MSD wires...I like how they look and they seem to be higher quality than the Motorcrafts I had, and without question better than the FRPP wires.

·
Registered
9,966 Posts
im a big MSD wires fan. Ive had mine for a few years and like them becuase they give a nice postive click down onto the plugs.

·
Amateur Expert
1,662 Posts
I've been using FRPP plug wires for 3 years now. I've had them off twice and never have had any problems with them. Just use plenty of dielectric grease and anti-seize.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
1.MSD is a dirty word in my house..
2. Factory ford wires from a dealer are good , but outrageous in price.
3. The FRPP wires are actually a tad heavier insulation, and have just as good Quality in my book.You just have to live with juvenile colors.

The above observations based on operating '95 T- Birds for over 318,000 miles over the past 9.5 years. Good luck, whatever you decide.

·
Registered
295 Posts
I chose the FRPP's because of the price and simplicity, but they didn't want to clip nicely to the coil packs. I used a small tie wrap around each set of locking clips, to keep the clips locked in place. I sent an e-mail to FRPP, about the poor quaity, and never got any reply. Go figure.

They have been on for 4 years, though, with no issues, and I'm partial to Ford Blue.

·
Registered
627 Posts
Leland Jacobson said:
1.MSD is a dirty word in my house..